Addiction Survivors

Unread 09-29-2011, 11:41 PM   #1
airblaine

Default Any doctor can prescribe buprenorphine

I don't know if this has been covered, but I have been paying through the nose for the past 5 years for suboxone treatment. I was on a healthy diet of oxy-everything for years before soboxone saved me. I also have some chronic pain (which of course is how all this started) anyhow, I moved from my previous residence to out of state. I was getting close to running out of meds and I could not find a sub doctor within 200 miles and the one I found had a 3 week waiting list! I went through the worst week of my life as withdrawals got worse and worse. I called my previous doctor and begged him to call in a partial prescription and then I had to drive 1 state over to pick it up! I used my 7 days of reprieve before my bupe ran out to find some more information. I was told by the WEBMASTER of http://www.naabt.org/ that buprenorphine is a schedule III drug and could be prescribed by anyone with a pad! WHAT! All this time I have been paying to be wiz-quized and going with month to month scrips. All that money.. oh well - that's CA for ya. I went to a dr here in ND and he wrote me my usual 8mg /day dose with 5 refills- generic bupe- I don't have to see him again until next year. I told him it works for my ankle pain - the truth.
I just want people to know - there is no such thing as a buprenorphine doctor! You just need to find a dr who gives a crap.
Thanks for your time and good luck to all.
airblaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-30-2011, 06:32 AM   #2
NancyB
Administrator

Hi airblaine, welcome. If a doctor prescribes buprenorphine for addiction, he or she has to have be certified. If a doctor prescribes it for pain, he or she does not have to be certified - doing that is prescribing the medication 'off label'.

Is the doctor who prescribed you the bupe certified? Did he prescribe it to you for addiction or your ankle pain?