Addiction Survivors

Unread 09-03-2011, 06:37 PM   #1
ZeusMaster

Default My Husband Unfairly Kicked Off Suboxone Program

Hey everybody. I'm new to this and wanted to share our story and see if any of you have any advice for us.
My husband has been on a suboxone program for the past 4 years with a doctor who is in a different city. Recently, our family doctor's practice, which is right around the corner from our house, started a program so I suggested to my husband that he meet with him for a consultation. It would be so much easier to go 2 minutes than 30 minutes for appointments and prescriptions.
He had a consultation and let the doctor know that he was currently on a program and going to this office would be more convienient. My husband also let the doctor know that he was ok with his pills for about another week, so he didn't need a prescription at this time. They set up another appointment for the day before he was scheduled to see his original doctor.
When he went back for his second appointment, they told him that he wasn't accpeted into the program. We weren't sure why, but were ok with it because he still had his other doctor. And having to drive a half hour, even though inconvienient, we could still deal with. Him continuing his treatment is the most important thing.
When my husband went back to his original doctor for his refill, they kicked him off of that program! The doctor accused him of doctor shopping, which is absolutely not true! Then the doctor was telling him that he was not actually taking his pills, but selling them, and was putting a suboxone pill in his urine when he was being seen at the office to pass his urine tests! They said that "metabolites" are not in his urine. They had said this to him a couple times over the past few months, and each time, he demanded to be re-tested, and then they'd never mention it again.